ABN AMRO convenes 2016 Annual General Meeting and announces new Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Press release -

Today, ABN AMRO Group N.V. published the convocation and materials for its Annual General Meeting, to be held on Wednesday, 18 May 2016, in Amsterdam (General Meeting).

The materials, including the agenda and explanatory notes, are available on the ABN AMRO website (www.abnamro.com/shareholdermeeting).

In accordance with the resignation schedule of the Supervisory Board, the current mandate of the Chairman, Mr Rik van Slingelandt, ends at the General Meeting. The current mandate of Mr Hans de Haan also expires at the General Meeting. Both Mr van Slingelandt and Mr de Haan have announced earlier that they will not apply for reappointment. The agenda of the General Meeting includes the nomination of Mr Arjen Dorland, Ms Frederieke Leeflang and Mr Tjalling Tiemstra as new members of the Supervisory Board. In addition, Mr Bert Meerstadt has decided to leave his position in the course of 2016. The screening by DNB/ECB of a new member to be appointed to the Supervisory Board is well under way.

The Supervisory Board has decided to appoint Ms Olga Zoutendijk (currently Vice-Chairman of the Supervisory Board) as new Chairman of the Supervisory Board of ABN AMRO Group, as successor to Mr van Slingelandt, subject to final approval of the European Central Bank (ECB). We expect to confirm the approval of the ECB prior to the General Meeting on 18 May, 2016. The profile of Ms Zoutendijk is available on the ABN AMRO website.

Rik van Slingelandt, Chairman of the Supervisory Board: “I am delighted that the Supervisory Board has decided to appoint Olga Zoutendijk as my successor. Olga Zoutendijk is in my opinion the most qualified person to chair the Supervisory Board of ABN AMRO, given her extensive and international experience in retail and wholesale banking.

The Supervisory Board is grateful to Hans de Haan and Bert Meerstadt for their valuable contribution over the past seven years to the development of the current bank. We highly appreciate their ongoing commitment and broad expertise, both in the Supervisory Board and its respective committees.”

The General Meeting will be held on 18 May 2016 at 14:00 CET at ABN AMRO’s head office, Gustav Mahlerlaan 10, 1082 PP Amsterdam. The meeting will also be webcast on www.abnamro.com/shareholdermeeting.

ABN AMRO Press Office ABN AMRO Investor Relations
pressrelations@nl.abnamro.com investorrelations@nl.abnamro.com
+31 20 6288900 +31 20 6282282


Join the discussion

ABN AMRO would like to know your opinion, so below this article you can react to this article via Disqus. By doing so, you agree to the conditions for reacting to articles on our website.

Related news items

More news about ABN AMRO